Of juggling commitments and considering heady thesis themes


No actually I don’t have time to write about that, I need to get back to writing reviews of St Petersburg restaurants I haven’t been to but are so good that I get hungry every time I write – my Big Breakfast diet is going down the drain because all this writing happens at night.

But I found this great link to long(or longish) form of journalism which I personally think is the way forward. If not niche writing, then human experiences. I was drawn to this article – 50 Shades of Greyhound by Harrison Scott Key at the Oxford American – at first because of my wingman’s traumatic bus experiences. The voice is a bit snobby, but that’s called personality, and Scott Key was paid for this. So this ticks all the boxes, y’all.

Here it is: http://www.oxfordamerican.org/articles/2013/may/27/issue-81-fifty-shades-greyhound/

Anyway, I got to go get back to jousting for lady love’s hand (no, haha, actually for a press release job – that is somewhat related to love – funny where freelancing can take you). Meanwhile, I twiddle my fingers waiting for a certain NGO to get back to me about an internship I am dying to get as well as a cleaner job. Yes you heard that right. Not only is that paid, it’d help get me out of bed early in the morning and get me to meet interesting people. Fingers crossed I get to pull a Scott Key (not snobby, obviously, who am I to judge) and Polly Toynbee, and prove Osborne wrong.

EDIT: I think this whole title-has-nothing-to-do-with-copy thing may become a thing.

Leave a Reply

